Ds Scholarship

Art association announces scholarship show winners

Don Fotini and his wife Connie with his winning painting “Snow Geese” at the Carson Valley Art Scholarship presentation.

The Carson Valley Art Society recently exhibited the art of more than 40 local artists at its annual Art Scholarship in Minden.

This year’s exhibition took place from November 5-7 and featured 112 pieces, mostly by Carson and Eagle Valley artists, with a few from Reno, Markleville, and Stagecoach.

Many of the entries were from non-association members and many were new to the show.

This three-day free art show included a reception, a 50/50 raffle, a silent auction, and a flea table.

Eight media categories in art presentation are acrylic, watercolor, mixed media, photography, oil, 3D arts, pastels and more. Mark Tompkins was the judge this year.

The Carson Valley Arts Society thanked the community for its support in the scholarship fundraising event, and for supporting and promoting the arts within the community. Find the association on Facebook-cvaa or send an email to cvaa.nv@gmail.com.


Best Show – “Snow Geese in the Mist” by Don Fotini

Audience Choice – “Big Sheep on a Turkey Feather” by Brenda Mok

First Oil – “Denali, the Great” by Milton Mattel,

The second – “Overlook” by Edwina Ford, and the third – “Blackbird” by Jesse Joyce

Acrylics I – “Snow Geese in the Fog” by Don Fotin,

The second – “Winter Splendor” by Milton Mattel, and the third – “Sharp Footrests” by Linda Baxter

First Water Media – “The Approach” by Loreana Taylor,

2nd place – “Still Lilac” by Colin Reynolds, third – “Hope Valley Ebbing” by Erin Taylor

First filming – “The Silent Hunter” by Donald Swayze,

The second – “Bridge to the Past” by Donald Swayze, and the third – “Morning Fog” by Cathy Port

Mixed Media First – “Not a Simple Cowboy” by Nancy Bergman,

Second – “It’s a Rush” by Caroline Denning, and third – “Snap Dragons” by Anna Maria Damonte

The first other – “Big Sheep on a Feather” Brenda Mock,

The second – “Morning” by Lisa Obukovskaya, and the third – “This Gun Ain’t Kidd’n” by Nancy Bergman

3D Art and Pastels did not have enough input to qualify for judging

Honorary awards have been awarded at the judge’s discretion to:

Carol Kennedy, Terry Sweeney, Milton Mattel, Anna Maria Damonte, Diana Johnson,

Constance Peters, LaVonne La Tulip Vasick, Sue Woskow, Kathy Port, Liza Obukhovskaya, and Rin Minatozaki.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here