Ds Scholarship

Jan. 18 deadline to apply for Community Foundation of the Fox River Valley’s 200 scholarships

Are you looking for university scholarships?

The deadline is 4 p.m. on Tuesday, January 18, to apply for nearly 200 different scholarships, totaling more than $1 million in scholarships, available exclusively to high school, college, and alumni students in the Fox Valley area through the Valley Community Foundation. Fox River.

Visit www.cffrv.org to access and submit the application. General policies, list of application materials, initial eligibility requirements, types of scholarships available, and location-based opportunities are included in the application.

Completing just one application will make students eligible to be considered for funding for one of nearly 200 different scholarships for the 2022-23 academic year.

Much depends on financial need. Others reward merit and academic achievement. Some of them are specialized scholarships in specific fields of study. Others are renewable for up to four years.

Scholarships are available to local students who live in the greater Aurora, Tri-Cities, and Kendall County area of ​​Illinois.

Students apply to the Community Foundation Scholarship Program, not for a specific scholarship, and are considered for any scholarship for which they are eligible.

“The Community Foundation is proud to support local students in their continuing education,” said Beth Christofel, Director of the Scholarship Program. “Last year, 330 students from the Fox Valley area received more than $1.4 million through our scholarship program. Since 1948, CFFRV has awarded more than $20 million in scholarships.”

“This scholarship will allow me to focus more on my studies rather than worrying about how I will afford college tuition. I am working to not only create more opportunities for myself but to motivate future generations.” 2021-22 Scholarship Program Recipient

The Community Foundation Scholarship Program is made up of approximately 200 separate scholarship funds set up by individual donors who set specific criteria for administering their scholarships. The common denominator is that applicants must plan to attend an accredited post-secondary institution within the United States on a full-time basis.

Applications are reviewed by the CFFRV Scholarship Committee, which is made up of local residents who volunteer their time and skills to participate in the review process.

Although a student may be eligible for many different scholarships, any student may receive only one scholarship in any given year to help as many individual students as possible.

Students who submit their applications by the January 18 deadline will receive award decisions in early May 2022.

A look at some scholarships

Among the nearly 200 individuals, companies and organizations who have made these awards possible through the Community Foundation are:

• The Jerry J. Murphy MSW Scholarship Fund, established in 2015, offers scholarships to Hispanic students pursuing a master’s degree in social work. Murphy, now retired, has served Kane County residents for 28 years as executive director of the INC Board, a community funding coalition for mental health.

• The Danny McCoy Memorial Scholarship/Aurora Firefighter Scholarship, established in 2005, provides scholarships to students who are employed by the Aurora Fire Department or to students whose parents or grandparents have previously worked or retired from the Aurora Fire Department. McCue (1955-2005) was a graduate of East Aurora High School.

• The George and Elaine Hetrich Scholarship Fund, established in 2007, provides scholarships to students graduating from high schools located in Oswego District 308. Scholarships support students pursuing a bachelor’s degree in nursing or a field of their choice. George Hetrich is a lifelong resident and farmer in the town of Oswego. He served in several electoral offices in Oswego and Kendall County. Eileen Hetrich worked at Copley Hospital and later worked for 25 years as a nurse in the Oswego school district.

• The Swami Vivekananda Scholarship was established in 2017 by the Aurora American Indian Community Outreach Advisory Board to support college-bound secondary school seniors who have demonstrated exemplary community service with financial assistance to further their education in a field of their choice.

• The Albert M. Zare Scholarship Fund, established in 2014, offers scholarships to students pursuing an undergraduate degree in accounting, aerospace/space sciences, agriculture, business, telecommunications, computer science, electronics, engineering, finance, and information systems , medicine, or vs. Students who continue their studies at trade schools are also eligible. Eligibility is reserved for students graduating from public secondary schools in Batavia, Geneva, Saint Charles, Oswego, Sycamore, DeKalb, Caneland, Yorkville or Plano. Zari, founder of the AM Zari Construction Company, helped build the runways at O’Hare Airport.

• The Dr. William H. Blackburn Memorial Scholarship Fund, established in 1985, is intended for graduate students studying in the field of medicine. Dr. Blackburn worked at Dreyer Medical Clinic from 1942 until 1985, was chief of staff at Copley Memorial Hospital and St. Joseph Mercy Hospital, and was president of the Greater Aurora Chamber of Commerce.

The Fox River Valley Community Foundation is a collection of individual funds and resources provided by local citizens to support quality of life in the Fox River Valley in Illinois.

Founded in 1948, it is a nonprofit, tax-exempt public charity that allows individuals, businesses, and other nonprofit organizations to establish permanent endowments and temporary funds within the confines of one large foundation. Foundation funds are used to provide grants to nonprofit organizations and scholarships to area students. CFFRV serves the greater Aurora area, the Tri-Cities and Kendall County in Illinois.

For more information, visit www.cffrv.org or follow www.facebook.com/cffrv.


Employers expect office return plan within weeks as Monash battles staff over in-person teaching

Victorian Chamber of Commerce and Industry chief executive Paul Guerra said office workers...

Zonta Club of Alpena offering scholarships to area women | News, Sports, Jobs

<!-- SHOW ARTICLE --> ALPENA - Scholarship Committee Chair Diane O'Connor has announced...

Sister Ann Martin Kelly, longtime Our Lady of Guadalupe teacher, dies at 90

Sister Ann Martin Kelly, who taught generations of students at Our Lady of...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here