Ds Scholarship

NIU Today | Outstanding graduate students recognized with awards

The NIU Graduate School typically hosts an awards ceremony in April to recognize and celebrate the outstanding accomplishments of our graduate students. These students are nominated for recognition by their academic departments, are fellowship recipients, or are dissertation and thesis prize winners.

“The annual reception provides an opportunity for the Graduate School to recognize some of our truly outstanding students and is without a doubt one of my favorite events of the year,” said Brad Bond, dean of the Graduate School. “The COVID-19 pandemic has obviously caused our plans for the reception, but the cancellation does not disrupt our desire to recognize our outstanding graduate students. We hope that many of those we would have celebrated in April will be able to join us next year for a belated face-to-face celebration of their accomplishments.”

The following students are recipients of the 2020-2021 awards:

Outstanding Graduate Student Award

Sarat Alabidun – Chemistry and Biochemistry

Danielle Arredondo – Interdisciplinary Health Professions

Denise Arrell-Rosenquist – Public Administration

Christopher Battisto – Geographic and Atmospheric Sciences

Christopher Bechtel – Allied Health and Communicative Disorders

Hannah Brennan – Family and Consumer Sciences

Kiley Cahill – Nursing

Michelle Callahan – Art and Design

Rebekah Chiasson – Communication

Jaclyn Crawford – Marketing

Jacob Cushing – Counseling and Higher Education

Demetrea Edwards – Counseling and Higher Education

Godwin Ekpe – Economics

Cynthia Garcia – Accountancy

Victor Garcia – History

Kassahun Geleta – Economics

Bethany Gola – Art and Design

Kyle Goodwin – Counseling and Higher Education

Russell Guilbault – Philosophy

Casey Hennessey – Physics

Hal Hinderliter – Educational Technology, Research and Assessment

Wieteke Holthuijzen – Biological Sciences

Xinyu (Judy) Hu – Psychology

Vince Hughes – Kinesiology and Physical Education

Theresa Izquierdo – Nursing

Jennifer Kaye – Art and Design

Brenda Kozak – Nursing

Katherine Lamps – Health Studies

Catherine Leech – Health Studies

Xun Li – Chemistry and Biochemistry

Yi Li – English

Rebecca Mohan – Allied Health and Communicative Disorders

Cassandra Mohr – Mathematical Sciences

Yasemin Onder – Educational Technology, Research and Assessment

Limeng Ong – Political Science

Dong Jae “DJ” Park – Kinesiology and Physical Education

Eduardo Perez – Special and Early Education

Lauren Prather – Special and Early Education

Benjamin Randecker – Music

Kaylar Recker – Political Science

Angela Redmond – Art and Design

Gaylen Rivers – Counseling and Higher Education

Shannon Roehn – Allied Health & Communicative Disorders

Tyler Roesler – Accountancy

Lizette Ruvalcaba – Accountancy

Rachel Seabaugh – Theater and Dance

Dheeban Kumar Srinivasan Sampathi – Industrial and Systems Engineering

Maria Stapleton – World Languages ​​and Cultures

Julie Steranka – Mathematical Sciences

Wei Hou Tan – Physics

Paris Thomas – Health and Human Sciences

Megan VanGorder – History

Emily Wagner – Sociology

Kristina Wiemer – Psychology

Guangting Zhou – Statistics and Actuarial Science

Dissertation Completion Fellowship

Xuezhi Cang – Geographic and Atmospheric Sciences

Jason Coenen – Geology and Environmental Geosciences

Robyn Ellis – Psychology

Kathy Marie Freeman – Counseling and Higher Education

Tab London – English

Kevin Luginbill – History

Osama Mohsen – Physics

Nadine Norris – Leadership, Educational Psychology and Foundations

Erik Sarnello – Chemistry and Biochemistry

Kristine Webster – Psychology

Carter G. Woodson Fellowship – New

Diana Robinson – Psychology

Erin Wilhelm – Counseling and Higher Education

Diversifying Higher Education Faculty in Illinois (DFI) Fellowship – New

Sherry Franklin – Curriculum and Instruction

Andrea Jackson-Sagredo – Mathematical Sciences

Brigitte Bingham – Educational Technology, Research and Assessment

Susana Das Neves – Counseling and Higher Education

Sharazazi Dyson – Counseling and Higher Education

DaShae Rodriguez-Harris – Psychology

Konya Sledge – Counseling and Higher Education

Outstanding Dissertation Award

Yanjun Liu – Economics (Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Education)

Pamela Taylor – College of Health and Human Sciences (Health Sciences & STEM)

Outstanding Thisis Award

Callie Klatt Golba – Biological Sciences (Health Sciences & STEM)

John Turnbull – English (Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Education)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here